Week 4 – Journal 1 Social Bookmarking

20 Sep

If you ask me whether I have ever heard of social bookmarking before reading this week’s content, my answer is “no”.  I wasn’t aware of such free service until today.  I spend a considerable amount of time on the internet each day and most of it is spent on elearning, online shopping, banking, social networking, instant messaging and digging for topics that interest me.   Before getting to know about Delicious and Digg, I use my very own web browser’s bookmark to bookmark sites that I want to keep.  Now my bookmark is getting full and messy – it’s time for a change.

Many thanks to those people who created Delicious and Digg – Joshua Schachter and Kevin Rose for their wonderful idea.  I think it’s great that people are able to store bookmarks online instead of in their favourites or bookmarks on their computers. The immediate advantage of this is that we can access our bookmarked sites from any computer – even a mobile phone. 

I am very new to this concept of social bookmarking and am still learning.  I will share my experiences once I learn more about its application.  While surfing the web I found some interesting articles about Delicious:

Delicious in Education http://www.scribd.com/doc/212002/Using-delicious-In-Education

10 ways to use Delicious  http://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/top-10-ways-to-use-delicious.html

7 things you should know about social bookmarking http://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ELI7001.pdf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

